The Hessle Rangers CIC Story

Hessle Rangers was formed in February 1976 when Peter and Janet Bilsdon’s son, Mike, found himself without a team. Knowing a few of her son’s friends were in the same position, Janet organised a trial sesssion to see if a team could be formed. This took place on a field in Hessle in six inches of snow with twelve boys turning up and Peter realising he had no choice but to match their commitment!

hesslerangers-gallery-1976The Originals. Hessle Rangers 1976.

In the early stages, due to business commitments, it was Janet who was the driving force with Peter taking the role of Secretary alongside his work. The team joined the Hull Boys Sunday Football League the following September at Under 13 level.

The club adopted it’s traditional sky blue and white stripes in the aftermath of the 1978 World Cup with the colours of new World champions Argentina being offered in the sports shop and winning a vote amongst the players.

The club has expanded and we now have teams in many divisions of the boy’s leagues. These teams have enjoyed much success having collected many League and Cup Trophies over the years.

In the season 1985/86 we expanded into men’s football both on a Saturday and Sunday, the club now has a team playing in the Hull Sunday Football League. The team have steadily progressed up the leagues from Div 17, as Champions on three occasions, plus in 1999/2000 Season, Premier League Champions at the third attempt.
We have a team in the Saturday Humber Premier League, which is a supply league as part of the FA pyramid system.

The club has a large number of qualified F.A. coaches and operates 1st Touch Football a Skills Development Scheme for 4-7 year olds. It is involved with Community Soccer Coaching in the “FA 3 Lions” Scheme with links to local schools. These two initiatives are the source of new players for the club

The club has a Girls section with teams playing in the East Riding Girls Football League and after a few years without representation, now has a team in the East Riding Womens League.

In December 2002 the club gained the FA Charter Standard Community Club Award one of the first in the country. The Club has also gained the ERVAS Gold Award both of which recognise high standards of good practice required in a voluntary sport environment.

Hessle Rangers were voted Grassroots club of the year at the 2019 East Riding County FA Grassroots awards.

Hessle Rangers CIC was formed in July 2021.

Raich Carter hands Hessle Rangers silverware – (1988)

This brilliant photograph pictures Hessle Rangers Secretary Pete Bilsdon receiving the Division 11 Winners Trophy Season for 1987-88 from Hull City legend Raich Carter – who was Hull Sunday Mens League President at the time.



Peter and Janet Bilsdon receive the 2018 FA Respect Award from then Hull City manager Nigel Adkins at the East Riding County FA Grassroots awards night.


Annual Club Awards

The club hands out four awards annually to recognise those who contribute greatly to  the club. The Ted Rilatt Trophy was donated by Ken Williams whose grandfather was skipper of the “Leeds United” which was a trawler from Hull being used by the government as a minesweeper based with others at Milford Haven at the end of World War II. They had a football competition between them won by HMT Leeds United. The Tom Wilson Trophy was donated by the Hessle Butcher through Stu McIntyre. The original was “lost” by the 2006/7 recipient Eddie Rafton (alleges Pete Bilsdon!) The Junior Endeavour & Senior Endeavour trophies were purchased with cash from an anonymous donor.


Ted Rilat Trophy

1983 – Mally Thompson

1984 – Dave Burr

1985 – Richard McWilliam

1986 – Stu McIntyre

1987 – Geoff Fisk

1988 – Pete Murphy

1989 – Pete Allinson

1990 – Derek & Mary Wraith

1991 – Doug Pepper

1992 – Elaine & Steve Smith

1993 – Barbara Tanser

1994 – John Walker

1995 – John & Karen Wilson

1996 – Phil Cawthra

1997 – Charlie Lazenby

1998 – Janet Bilsdon

1999 – Steve Cockin

2000 – Ian Parkin

2001 – Ken Harvey

2002 – Stu McIntyre

2003 – Pete Youngs

2004 – Mark Owen

2005 – Chris Hoff

2006 – Keith Picken

2007 – Andy McWilliam

2008 – n/a

2009 – Brian Lee

2010 – Karen Evans

2011 – Richard Smith

2012 – Gavin Smith

2013 – Andy Newton

2014 – Rick Skelton

2015 – Mark Kelsey

2016 – Brian Edmondson

2017 – Gary Thompson

2018 – Phil Ward

2019 – Gary Neve

Senior Endeavour

2003 – Pete Bilsdon

2004 – Paul Fisher

2005 – Janet Bilsdon

2006 – Joanne Youngs

2007 – Andy Newton

2008 – George Allon

2009 – Jan Purdy

2010 – Rick Skelton

2011 – Mark Kelsey / Stuart Carey

2012 – Jennie Lee

2013 – Matt Barker

2014 – Rachael Smith

2015 – Gary Murphy

2016 – Danny Thompson

2017 – Bobby Richardson

2018 – Steve Powell

2019 – John Dykes

Tom Wilson Memorial

2007/08 – Craig Holmes

2008/09 – Mark Lucid

2009/10 – Gareth Wilson

2010/11 – Matt Barker

2011/12 – Mark Dale

2012/13 – Luke Picken

2013/14 – Danny Wilkin

2014/15 – Chris Jennings

2016 – Tom Briggs

2017 – Mick Jennings

2018 – Lee Gardner

2019 – Bailey Smith

Junior Endeavour

2003 – J Colville

2004 – Emily Butler

2005 – Rob Youngs

2006 – Lucy Evans

2007 – Paris Milner

2008 – Adam Newton

2009 – Emily Sheriff

2010 – Lewis Rennison

2011 – Joe Addrison

2012 – Jack Dean

2013 – n/a

2014 – Danny Mulvana

2015 – Harry Ward

2016 – Sam Dean

2017 – Jack Lawson

2018 – Hannah Jude

2019 – Tyler Thompson

%d bloggers like this: